April 27-May 1: Poem in Your Pocket

Learner Profile: COMMUNICATOR

We express ourselves con­fidently and creatively in more than one language and in many ways. We collaborate effectively, listening carefully to the perspectives of other individuals and groups.

First Peoples Principles of Learning:  Learning is embedded in memory, history & story

 

Poem in Your Pocket Day is on Thursday, April 30.  Let’s celebrate by writing a poem and posting it for others to read.

We are all experiencing a different way of life.  Writing about our new reality is a neat way to document this time with how we feel and what we are doing.  Feel free to express yourself in any different poetry form or even a language more familiar to you!

A repetition poem is one way that you can express yourself.  This style repeats the same words or phrases a few times to make an idea clearer and more memorable.

Read Shel Silverstein repetition poem.  Can you figure out what’s missing?

SOMETHING MISSING

I remember I put on my socks,
I remember I put on my shoes.
I remember I put on my tie
That was painted
In beautiful purples and blues.
I remember I put on my coat,
To look perfectly grand at the dance,
Yet I feel there is something
I may have forgot—-
What is it? What is it?. . .

Once you have written your new reality in a poem, let others read it by:

Typing the poem into “Set Status Message” in Teams.  (Click on your icon id at the top right hand corner).  Make sure that you set the message for a week.  Other people can read your poem by hovering over your icon.  Note: There is a 280 character limit.

OR

Post it into the comments of the blog.

Later, read 5 other poems and leave a message to the writer.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “April 27-May 1: Poem in Your Pocket

  1. I’m sad because I can’t see my friends,
    I’m sad because I can’t go to the park
    I’m sad because I can’t go to school
    but I’m happy that I can talk to my friends on line.
    Lennon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *